Personal

Here’s to year 23

I’ve never really been one to believe that the best things happen when you least expect it until not too long ago. It all began when I decided to bring an eventful 2015 to an end back in my hometown of Savannah, Georgia. My best friend, Carolyn, and I agreed that we both wanted to have a low key NYE celebration with some of our hometown friends so we made the four hour trek from Atlanta to Savannah. My four day trip back home was everything I wanted and so, so much more.

As I’m sure you can already tell, I’m talking about a boy. Ben and I share a ton of mutual friends but somehow never crossed paths while in high school despite living five minutes from each other. It took me all but ten minutes after getting to his house on NYE to realize I was interested in him (and then we barely spoke for the remainder of the night #classicparks). And as much as I hate to admit it, I spent the next three days trying to impress him and play it cool. Well here we are two months later and he’s one of the greatest things to ever happen to me.

Because of this I have found myself in an unfortunate (but kinda cool) situation, a long distance relationship. In the two months we’ve been in each others lives, we’ve only spent twelve of those days together. Living four states away isn’t always the greatest but it’s given me the opportunity to do something that I love, travel. After a two hour flight (and a little bit of motion sickness), I was in Texas spending my birthday with my boyfriend.

My birthday is, and always has been, my favorite thing to celebrate. I am incredibly lucky to have a boyfriend that not only tolerates that but actually encourages it. My trip was filled with lots and lots of food, window shopping, being tourists, the beach and naps. All of which are my favorite things. The only downside to the trip was the mean looks the bartenders would give me when I asked for a Moscow Mule.

After four days in Galveston with Ben, I was really hating the thought of leaving. Almost three days back in Georgia and I’m still dreading the idea of Facetiming instead of getting to spend our nights face to face. But I still wouldn’t trade that for anything. I’ve already experienced three cities and two states in the two short months of 2016 because of you. Heres to having the best birthday and the best year yet because of you as well.

Leave a Reply

