Personal

New Year, New Me…

Welp, here we are again a brand new year and it’s been way too long since my last post. Since I last blogged in March, I graduated college (!!!!!!), moved back to my hometown, Savannah, Georgia, got to visit my sister that lives in the Keys and started my first “big girl” job. These past nine months have been incredibly scary, satisfying, tough, amazing and everything in between.

Moving back to my hometown after graduation was not like I expected it to be at all. After living in the Atlanta area for five years and rarely returning home except for short holiday visits, I lost touch with most of my friends. Since a majority of my friends ended up going to the same college, I had a hard time re-establishing those relationships and feeling like I was a part of the “group” again. Add the pressure of a bad break up and being completely on my own financially, I was learning how to become an adult a lot faster than I was prepared to.

I survived the tough times and I feel like all the hardships were the best things that could have happened. I’ve reconnected with all of my high school besties and I couldn’t be happier. I’ve even gotten the chance to get to know all of my high school boyfriends again and I must say, we’re all equally better people now than we were back then!

And now here we are. It’s 2017. New Year, new me right? (Lets just hope this new me can keep up with her blog) In true Parks form I’m dedicating this year to something….

Welcome To 2017: The Year of Parks!

This year is all about becoming the best me that I can be. My first step in this decision was to pick up a devotional for the entire year. After lots of research, I decided on Trusting God Day by Day by Joyce Meyer. I felt like this was an appropriate title for me because of how much my life has changed in the past year and because of the changes that I’m sure are to come. I’ve always had a hard time with change and I’m hoping this will help me to remember that God’s in control and I just need to trust in his plan for me. I’m only on day four and this book as already spoken to me. Meyer reminds us that “our journey towards right behavior and holiness is progressive” and we cant drag the guilt from our past mistakes with us. We’ll never overcome these mistakes and move forward if we’re constantly feeling guilty. Because of this, in 2017 I will be committed to moving forward instead of looking back. I truly am enthusiastic about where this year will take me.

YOUR FUTURE HAS NO ROOM FOR YOUR PAST.

That’s the motto that I’ll be living by in 2017. How about you?

New Year, New Me.

Leave a Reply

